Does Domino’s Pizza Dough Have Eggs? (Must Read)

Last updated on September 11th, 2023 at 02:13 pm

You should carefully mix the pizza dough if you want a crunchy and tasty pizza. It’s also necessary to use the right toppings and bake in the correct heat.

The pizza dough determines the taste and texture of your pizza, and it contains about five basic ingredients.

However, each brand uses its unique pizza dough recipe, which may or may not contain eggs.

Domino makes one of the finest pizzas you would get, and it’s one of the largest pizza chain outlets in the United States.

Being one of the sought-after brands, you might want to know what goes into making their pizza dough and whether they add eggs or not.

Does Domino Pizza dough contain eggs? Keep reading to find out.

Domino pizza dough does not contain eggs. This pizza brand makes five types of pizza crust with rich and quality ingredients, but eggs are not part of the pizza dough recipes. Although eggs soften and smoothen the pizza dough, they are not one of the basic ingredients to make a tasty and crispy pizza.

Why Domino’s Pizza Dough Does Not Have Eggs?

Domino's Pizza Dough Have Eggs

Domino doesn’t include eggs in their pizza dough recipe to be able to accommodate vegans and those with egg allergies.

According to their nutritional allergen information chart guide, their pizza dough does not contain eggs.

This protein is an essential ingredient for baking because of the creamy and smooth texture it adds to the dough.

However, pizza dough is an exception to this. Eggs are not usually used in making pizza dough, although some brands use them, especially for frozen dough.

Vegans are strict vegetarians who avoid by-products from animals, including eggs. Some people have allergies to this protein, although they are not vegans.

People with this allergy are always on the lookout for foods without eggs. Domino makes it easier for these people by not including this protein in their pizza dough.

Another reason Domino’s Pizza doesn’t use eggs in making their dough is that they change the texture of the dough and make it softer. 

What is Domino’s Pizza Dough Made of?

Domino’s pizza dough is made with six basic ingredients, which are common with other pizza doughs.

The six basic ingredients include:

  • Flour
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Oil
  • Yeast

Domino makes five different types of pizza crust, including the gluten-free crust, which does not contain wheat and is safe for non-gluten eaters.

The following are the types of pizza crust you can get from Domino and their ingredients. The dough contains flour, water, and oil in the highest proportion, while the rest ingredients are 2% or less.

#1. Handmade Pan Crust

The handmade pan crust is hand-pressed into a pizza pan, resulting in a fine, thick crust. The dough is made from the following:

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, iron, thiamine mononitrate, niacin, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Palm oil
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Whey 
  • Natural butter flavor
  • Soy lecithin
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Dough conditioners
  • Yeast

#2. Hand Tossed Crust

The hand-tossed crust is kneaded and tossed in the air to get the desired shape before it’s baked. This results in a thin and crispy dough.

The dough is not as thin as Brooklyn crust but not as thick as the handmade pan crust. It’s made with cornmeal to make it crispy.

The hand-tossed dough is made from: 

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, iron, thiamine mononitrate, niacin, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Whey
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Dough conditioners
  • Yeast
  • Cornmeal

#3. Brooklyn Crust 

The Brooklyn crust is hand-stretched and made thin and crunchy. The dough is stretched very thin and can be folded.

It’s similar to the hand-tossed crust but uses less dough and is thinner, lighter, and crunchier. It’s cooked with cornmeal to make it crisp enough.

The Brooklyn crust is made from: 

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, iron, thiamine mononitrate, niacin, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Whey
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl lactylate, enzyme, calcium sulfate, ascorbic acid, calcium phosphate, L-cysteine) 
  • Yeast
  • Corn starch

#4. Thin Crust 

The thin crust is a little different from other pizza doughs. It’s crispy, crunchy, light, and the thinnest dough Domino makes, but it is thick enough to contain the necessary toppings.

The dough is made from:

  • Flour (wheat, malted barley)
  • Water
  • Soybean oil
  • Salt
  • Calcium propionate (preservative)
  • Dextrose
  • Leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate, calcium lactate), 
  • Corn starch
  • Yeast
  •  L-cysteine (dough conditioner).

#5. Gluten-Free Crust 

Domino makes gluten-free pizza for people who can’t eat gluten. The dough doesn’t contain wheat, and the ingredients differ slightly from the rest of Domino’s crust.

It’s made from the following:

  • Potato flour
  • Rice flour
  • Brown rice flour
  • Water
  • Modified rice starch
  • Potato starch
  • Olive oil
  • Evaporated cane sugar, 
  • Fresh yeast
  • Honey
  • Advice
  •  Salt
  • Calcium propionate

Is Domino’s Dough Vegan?

What is described as vegan sometimes depends on the individual. Domino’s pizza dough is not vegan, although some vegans may find what is suitable for them among Domino’s pizza crust.

Domino makes five types of crust containing animal ingredients that could be problematic for vegans. The closest dough to vegan is the thin crust and the gluten-free crust.

Also, finding a vegan-friendly pizza depends on your location. Domino’s pizza in the UK makes vegan-friendly pizzas available.

Domino’s pizza dough in the US is not vegan. Thin crust Domino’s pizza in Canada is vegan-friendly. 

Below are the five types of crust offered by Domino pizza and the animal ingredients they contain: 

  • Brooklyn crust – Whey
  • Handmade Pan Crust – Whey, Natural Butter Flavor (might be vegan)
  • Hand Tossed Crust – Whey
  • Gluten-Free Crust – Honey
  • Thin Crust – L-cysteine

Whey is not vegan. You get whey from milk. Natural butter flavor could be vegan, but since the handmade pan crust also contains whey, it doesn’t matter.

The Thin crust close enough to vegan contains l-cysteine used as a dough conditioner.

L-cysteine may be vegan or non-vegan as you get them from human hair or coal tar, but they get the majority from animal hair. The gluten-free crust contains honey which is not vegan.

However, some vegans eat honey, so gluten-free pizza dough can fall into the class of vegan-friendly options that you can get from Domino. It all depends on you.

Generally, Domino pizza dough is not 100% vegan. However, you can request a vegan-friendly pizza at Domino with a thin or gluten-free crust.

Where is Domino’s Pizza Dough Made?

Domino’s pizza uses fresh dough made every day. They don’t make their dough on site.

The East Granby center in the US makes the pizza dough and supplies other ingredients used in making Domino’s pizza. 

The East Granby center is tasked with making the fresh dough that Domino’s distributes to the stores in America. 

They produce about 18,000 trays of dough daily and supply them to about 425 New York and New England stores.

Domino’s makes food safety their priority. Their dough is made with well-sourced and quality ingredients that are safe for consumers.

Domino’s Pizza Dough Nutritional Allergen Information

The Domino’s pizza nutritional allergen information chart guide provides information on the nutritional composition of Domino’s pizza.

The chart guide is important as it also contains all possible allergies associated which each menu.

The guide can be found on their websites and may differ slightly based on location. The possible food allergies include:

  • Eggs
  • Fish
  • Soy
  • Milk
  • Wheat

It’s advisable to always check the nutritional allergen chart guide before making your orders if you have any allergies.


Domino’s pizza dough recipe does not contain eggs. The five types of crust made in Domino’s pizza contain six basic ingredients and other minor ingredients that don’t include eggs.

For those with egg allergies, an eggless dough does not mean an eggless pizza. Make sure you check the allergen chart guide before making your orders.

Similar Posts