Are Pizza Hut Wings Gluten-Free? (Read This First)

Last updated on September 11th, 2023 at 02:13 pm

Pizza Hut is a prevalent pizza chain that offers various options for its customers, including those with gluten sensitivity.

Going gluten-free is quite challenging. And if you’re a fan of Pizza Hut wings, here is what you should know about whether or not it’s gluten-safe.

Unfortunately for Pizza Hut wing lovers, this menu isn’t gluten-free. Based on their allergen information guide, the chicken wings contain cereal with gluten, so they aren’t safe for those with gluten allergies. However, the barbeque chicken wings may contain only traces from the manufacturing site. Nonetheless, you should avoid the wings if you’ve celiac disease.

In this blog post, I’ll explain whether or not pizza hut wings are gluten-free and what they’re made of. Also, I’ll explain whether or not gluten-free pizza is safe.

In the end, you’d know what toppings are gluten-free in Pizza hut. 

Are Pizza Hut Wings Gluten-free?

Pizza Hut Wings Gluten-Free

No, Pizza hut wings aren’t gluten-free. The Pizza Hut allergen information chart states that the chicken wings contain cereal with gluten above 20 ppm(parts per million.)

Gluten is a significant protein in cereal grains, especially wheat, rye, and barley. It’s essential for the elasticity of dough and the structure of baked products.

While the traditional and boneless wings Pizza Hut offers don’t contain gluten, the breading applied to the wings contains gluten.

Generally, meat, including chicken, doesn’t contain the protein gluten. However, the flour used to coat these items in restaurants is what places them as unsafe for those with gluten sensitivity.

So, Pizza Hut wings are usually coated with flour-based bread before frying. This breading comprises cereal that contains gluten above 20 ppm.  

According to the FDA, gluten-free foods can contain ingredients derived from grains-containing gluten less than 20 ppm.

The implication is that foods labeled gluten-free can contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, which is considered tolerable for people with gluten sensitivity.

Therefore, Pizza Hut wings aren’t gluten-free since their gluten level is above the safe standard.

However, BBQ chicken wings don’t contain the cereal used in standard chicken wings, so they’re considered safe for consumption.

But, they can become cross-contaminated at the manufacturing site.

So, you should avoid chicken wings if you’re bothered, especially if you’ve celiac disease.

What Are Pizza Hut Wings Made of?

Pizza hut wings are made from chicken, marinated in sauce, and baked or fried.

Also, they offer the breaded wing, coated with flour and other ingredients before it’s baked or fried.

Pizza Hut offers two types of chicken wings: traditional (bone-in) and boneless (bone-out) wings, which have different preparation methods.

In addition, they’re available in different flavors depending on your choice of sauce to marinate your wings in. 

Below is the choice of sauce available:

  • Naked (plain, no sauce)
  • Honey BBQ
  • Garlic Parmesan
  • Spicy Garlic
  • Smoky Sriracha
  • Hawaiian Teriyaki
  • Buffalo – buffalo, is available in mild, medium, or burning hot.

Below is a table showing the difference between the traditional and boneless Pizza Hut wings:

Traditional WingsBoneless Wings
It takes time to cook because of the bone in themThey cook faster
Are tastier It doesn’t taste as succulent as the bone-in wings
Customers prefer the bone-in wingsA less percentage goes for the bone-out wings
The bones keep the wings in the shapeSince they lack bones, they don’t maintain their shape 
They’re not usually breaded and so are low on calories and carbohydratesThey are usually breaded and contain more calories and carbohydrates

What Toppings Are Gluten-Free at Pizza Hut?

Pizza Hut offers a wide range of gluten-free toppings to cater to those with gluten intolerance.

So, when choosing toppings, check their allergen information guide to see those available.

Below are some of the gluten-free toppings available at Pizza Hut:

#1. Grilled Chicken

Grilled chicken is one of the healthy toppings at Pizza hut. It’s a good choice for those who want something besides pork or beef.

The chicken is usually marinated and well-grilled and comes with a dipping sauce of your choice. 

#2. Pepperoni

Pepperoni is another excellent topping that adds a nice and tasty flavor to your pizza. 

#3. Diced Roma Tomatoes 

Another gluten-free topping is diced Roma tomatoes. These tomatoes are a healthy choice, fresh and minced into small pieces.

Also, they add a unique flavor to your pizza and can combine well with other toppings such as sausage and chicken.

#4. Beef

If you love beef, you’re lucky, as this is another gluten-free topping to pick from. It’s tasty and juicy and can combine well with other toppings like pepperoni and sausage.

#5. Italian Sausage 

Pizza hut makes classic Italian sausage. They prepare it with pork, beef, and fennel seeds with seasonings that create a mouth-watering flavor.

#6. Spinach

For a very healthy topping, spinach is a perfect choice. This vegetable is always fresh at Pizza Hut and offers a nice flavor and texture.

In addition, it pairs well with cheese for a juicer flavor.

#7. Fresh Mushrooms

Pizza Hut mushrooms are always fresh and make an excellent topping for your pizza. 

You can pair this topping with pepperoni or grilled chicken for a good flavor.

#8. Fresh Green Bell Peppers

Another healthy choice of topping is fresh green bell peppers and veggies. They add a great flavor that blends with Italian sausage.

#9. Seasoned Pork

For something yummy, the Pizza Hut seasoned pork is a great choice. It’s well-seasoned with great spices like chili powder and paprika. 

The seasoned pork is worth trying if you’re okay with the extra calories.

#10. Red Onions

Red onions are another healthy veggie you’d want as a topping on your pizza. Pizza Hut offers fresh and good-quality red onions.

They are perfect for other toppings, like pepper, sausage, and mushrooms.

#11. Green Chile Peppers

Green chile peppers are in two flavors: mild and spicy. They add a nice flavor and heat to your pizza and other dishes.

Similar Posts